Category: Staff

Michelle Ramos

Michelle Ramos Executive Director michelle@alternateroots.org Dr. Michelle Ramos brings a deep and incredibly robust diversity of experience to her new role as Executive Director of Alternate ROOTS. Her background includes most recently working in criminal justice reform as Project Director

Ashley Walden Davis

Ashley Walden Davis Managing Director ashley@alternateroots.org Ashley Walden Davis is the Managing Director at Alternate ROOTS and oversees the day-to-day activities of the staff, and operations, while working to achieve the long range goals and objectives of the organizational strategic

Paige Heurtin

paige-heurtin

Paige Heurtin Operations Manager paige@alternateroots.org Paige’s main responsibilities are paying the bills, ordering the post it notes, and making sure the office is running smoothly. Paige takes care of the daily accounting for Alternate ROOTS, the monthly preparation of financial statements

Wendy Shenefelt

Wendy Shenefelt Programs Director wendy@alternateroots.org The Programs Director executes the overall management, design, implementation, administration and evaluation of ROOTS Week and ROOTS Weekends, and our regranting program, Artistic Assistance. ROOTS Week is Alternate ROOTS’ signature event and is modeled as a

Nicole Gurgel-Seefeldt

NICOLE GURGEL-SEEFELDT Manager of Communications Strategy nicole@alternateroots.org As the Communications Manager, Nicole implements the strategy for all internal and external communications. Working closely with Programs and

Joseph Thomas

Joseph Thomas Manager of Communications Technology joseph@alternateroots.org As the Manager of Communications Technology, Joseph creates and disseminates ROOTS’ bi-monthly newsletters (Field News & Member News), oversees the database and membership directory, and maintains the ROOTS website. Joseph was born and

Clarissa Crawford

Clarissa Crawford Programs Associate clarissa@alternateroots.org Clarissa is a producer who facilitates creative processes by curating content, opportunities, and access to resources for artists. She is also a seasoned project manager who has served corporate, government, and creative institutions through the

Mark Kidd

Mark Kidd Development Associate mark@alternateroots.org Mark lives at the base of Pine Mountain in Whitesburg, Kentucky and on his family farm at Little Mud, Kentucky but travels extensively to facilitate workshops and residencies that incorporate theater, low-cost media, and cultural organizing.

Alternate ROOTS supports the creation and presentation of original art that is rooted in communities of place, tradition or spirit. We are a group of artists and cultural organizers based in the South creating a better world together. As Alternate ROOTS, we call for social and economic justice and are working to dismantle all forms of oppression—everywhere.